Wellness
Leave a Comment

10 Ways to Keep Your New Year’s Resolutions on Track

10 ways to help you keep your New Years Resolutions.

So the first month of 2016 is nearly over….well that went incredibly fast! Did anyone else make resolutions, or set goals for this year? I know I did.

The past few years I have tried to set goals more than make resolutions. For me personally, goals feel more real, something to work on or work towards, and form new habits. So last December I looked at my life, and thought about all I wanted to achieve in the coming year.

And here we are – nearing the completion of January 2016. This year my goals include committing to more mindful, healthier lifestyle, saying yes to a life filled with light, laughter, and getting out there, saving for my European holiday in August, and getting back to my design roots and creating things just for the pleasure of it.

So where are we all at? I for one breezed leapt and bound through January, half-heartedly committing to my goals, fluttering around like a butterfly in the breeze, with no focus at all. Did I have a good month anyway? Hell yes! Do I wish I had been more mindful of the time flying by and committed to my goals? Heck yes!

I’m sure I’m not the only one in this boat, so I thought I’d share some tips I’ve been collecting on sticking to resolutions and goals, because it is never too late to start (or start again!)

 

  1. Reset your mindset
    In order to progress and succeed at your goals, you need to think differently. Start the day positively, free your mind of past issues, and niggling worry. If you want to want to stay on track, you must believe you will.
  1. Remember that Rome wasn’t built in a day
    A new habit isn’t going to stick overnight, so keep working and building on your New Year’s resolutions, until they become less like chores, and become everyday healthy habits. Be persistent and patient!
  1. Get enough sleep
    We all know everything becomes sooo much harder when we are tired. Cooking healthy meals, exercising, reading, all your resolutions can be jeopardized if you come to do them with droopy eyelids and a frazzled mind. Not to mention lack of sleep can increase your cravings for salty fatty food (12am Mcdonald’s I am looking at you!). Make sure you are getting your forty winks a night, and prioritize time to relax.
  1. Plan and prepare
    Don’t even let ‘I don’t have enough time’ cross your mind this year. Make a plan for your health and fitness, and prepare yourself to be able to tick things off your list. Decide how you will deal with the temptation to skip that exercise class or have that piece of cake, and make preparations. Simple or complex, create something that works for you, and be proud when you tick things off.
  1. Buddy up
    Find a buddy who shares your New Year’s resolution and motivate each other. Whether it’s exercising or cooking healthy food, or even having someone to chat (or complain!) to, having someone there who knows about your resolutions, can help you stick to your guns.
  1. Be kind to yourself
    Making changes to your health and habits can be truly challenging and some days you’ll want to throw in the towel. Remind yourself why you started, how far youve come, and how proud you should be of yourself.
  2.  Be realistic
    The surest way to fall short of your goal is to make your goal unattainable. For instance, resolving to NEVER eat your favorite food again is setting you up to fail. Instead, strive for a goal that is attainable, such as avoiding it more often than you do now.
  3. Share your journey
    Don’t keep your resolution a secret. Tell friends and family who you feel will be there to support your resolve to change yourself for the better or improve your health. Starting a blog or documenting your resolutions visually can be a great way to hold yourself accountable, and find people who are going through the same things.
  4. Treat yo self
    If you have been sticking to your resolutions, remember to reward yourself. I’m not talking a whole block of chocolate and a bottle of wine, but things that will make you happy but not regret devouring them. New gym gear can be a great idea, or a brand new cookbook to help you on your journey.
  5. Keep going!
    The first few weeks can be hard, and by mid-February you might feel like you are running out of steam, but don’t despair! If you are feeling at a total loss with your resolutions, start small, or even from the beginning. Look at what you wanted to achieve, and why, and make changes a day at a time, until you are back on the ball and in the game.

 

What are your 2016 goals? Share them in the comments section below!

 

Leave a comment