Wellness
Leave a Comment

In My Beauty Bag – Natural Summer Beauty Essentials

In My Beauty Bag: Natural Summer Essentials.

It’s full-on summer here in little New Zealand, and we have had one of the hottest starts to the year ever. I thought I’d share my essential beauty items, as they have become important staples in my daily routine.

In earlier years, I just slapped on whatever I had been using and thought nothing of the season, but recently i’ve been trying to slowly refine the list of products I use, and choosing items that are “as natural as possible” and also nourish my skin through the scorching summer months.

Tailor Skincare Daily Moisturiser – I recently purchased this moisturiser, but can already attest to it’s benefits! I have always had very dry to combination skin, but lately it’s been pretty normal to oily (might be the warmer weather extra water I’ve been drinking!) so I switched from my normal, heavy duty moisturiser to a lighter, but just as hydrating Tailor Skincare one. I recommend this product for anyone wanting plump, well-moisturised skin, but with a lighter feel and that helps you control your oil production.

Essano Rosehip Oil – I love using this oil all over my face and neck right before bed, and in the morning before I apply my moisturiser. It’s nourishing and feels like a light, protective layer. The Essano rosehip oil also isn’t heavily perfumed, and just smells wonderfully natural.

Only Good Bodywash – It was the packaging that got me first with this body wash, pastel pink and copper, I was sold! But after actually using it, I was blown away by the fresh rosehip, ylang ylang, and chamomile, and the way the organic, natural ingredients nourished my skin leaving it smooth and moisturised.

Nation Pure Skin Perfecting BB Cream.

Natio Piure Mineral Skin Perfecting BB Cream – A long time lover of Natio, I’ve been using the Natio Skin Perfect BB cream for a few years now. It’s light-weight, light coverage, and will protect your face from the sun with the SPF 15 . Although the ingredients aren’t that ‘natural,’ on my skin the BB cream feels very natural and let’s my skin breathe, which is a big plus for me.

BareMinerals Mineral Veil – My new fav product for the summer! I’ve always battled with an oily t-zone, and just suffered in silence, not wanting to part out money on a product that might fail. That is, until I read a review by Megan Gigler of the Fresh Exchange about how Mineral Veil helps keep her oil at bay and keeps her feeling fresh all day long. Being a devoted follower, I trusted Megan and bought Mineral Veil, which I am so glad I did! Mineral Veil helps to minimise lines, absorb oils, and softens your complexion, and my favourite part is that it’s weightless.

My hair suffers a lot in summer from the constant swimming, washing, and just general environmental stress. I decided recently to invest in some quality hair care products, which would hopefully protect my hair from the elements. I chose the Hask Repairing Argan Oil Conditioner and Hask Moisturising Macadamia Oil Shampoo. Hask products are free of sulfates, parabens, phthalates, gluten, drying alcohol and artificial colors.

I love the HASK Argan Oil from Morocco Repairing Conditioner for its infusion of moisturizing argan oil. It helps soften and detangling my mane while protecting against damage and breakage. It’s no wonder they call argan oil the “miracle oil”! It also has a really zesty citrus fragrance, which is great on a hot day and smells all tropical and energising.

Summer Hair Is Here – & It's Pretty Great #Macadamia #Moisturizing #HaskHair #Love

A post shared by HASK (@haskhair) on

The HASK Macadamia Oil Moisturizing Shampoo is also great for my dry, thirsty hair after a long day in the heat and sun. The antioxidant-rich macadamia oil replenishes, hydrates, and gently adds moisture, leaving it nice and soft and shiny. It also smells like scrumptious vanilla and macadamia nuts.

The Body Shop Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion.

The Body Shop Tea Tree Overnight Blemish Fade Night Lotion – Another fav of mine, the Body Shop Tea Tree Lotion is a lightweight lotion that can be applied to blemish-prone skin at night to help fade, correct, and prevent future breakouts. I love this item because the tea tree helps keep blemishes at bay, while the other active ingredients help regulate oil without drying the area out, which is very important in summer.

There are still products that I would like to add to my ‘natural’ list, such as a good sunscreen, mascara, lipbalm, and facial cleansers and scrubs. And the dream one day would be able to list every item I use on my face, in my hair, and on my body and know that the ingredients are natural, organic, and good for my overall skin and hair health.

I would love to hear what suggestions you have for natural, everyday products that you use and swear by. Let me know in the comment section below!

 

Nic x

 

The Sunshine Exchange.

Leave a Reply

